More than 100 years ago - in 1905 to be precise- the present course was a beautiful park, well wooded and surrounded by a spinney. The Wilderness (The Clubs original name) was a most appropriate name for a Club formed by five friends with five holes meandering between farming obstacles, with flagsticks held in by flowerpots. There was no greenkeeper however a gardener was employed once a week!
The 1st tee was near to the present 8th tee at Britannia Road and the 1st green was a depression in the middle of what is now the 7th fairway. With the purchase of more land and then the Manor House in 1906, the present Club began to take shape with the change from farmland hastened by the hiring of three greens staff.
It was clear that professional help would be required to establish a great course and in 1907 one of the giants of the game, and twice winner of The Open Championship, Willie Park Jnr, designed the layout that is enjoyed today.
Harry Vardon, winner of the Open Championship a record six times, was a regular visitor to the Club and in 1912 took part in a four ball at North Middlesex with two other leading professionals, Ted Ray and Ralph Smith and the Clubs own professional PG Wyatt.
Vardon was made an honorary member of North Middlesex and the second professional to be bestowed this honour was Jimmy Ockenden, the Club's own golf pro for 20 years up to 1948.
Over the years the course has been altered very slightly with the overall length remaining much the same. Naturally, the Manor House has been altered and extended to meet modern demands and the work continues today with the Club always striving to upgrade and improve the North Middlesex Golf Club experience, both on the course and off it.